In its continuing efforts to involve adjunct faculty, the Two-Year College English Association—Southeast will again honor an outstanding conference program proposal made by a part-time instructor.

The award includes a stipend of $550, recognition on a conference plaque, and the opportunity to present at a specially designated session. This conference presentation honors Nell Ann Pickett, TYCA-SE member who began her teaching career as a part-time instructor.

Proposal Criteria

  • Presenter must be a part-time instructor at a two-year college or technical school located in the ten-state region served by TYCA-Southeast.

  • Presenter must be a member of TYCA-Southeast.

  • Presenter must register for and present the proposal at the annual conference


The winner is selected by the Conference Committee.

Past Winners

2019 – Jonathan Warnock
Tri-County Technical College (SC)

2018 – Amy McDonald
Pellissippi State Community College (TN)

2017 – Jennifer Hitchcock
Northern Virginia Community College (VA)

2016 – Madonna Kemp
Chattanooga State Community College (TN)

2015 – Lee Ann Dickerson
Jefferson Community and Technical College (KY)

2014 – No Winner

2013 – Cynde Gregory
Gwinnett Technical (GA)

2012 – Claire Gilman
Tidewater Community College(VA)

2011 – Konni Shier
Midlands Technical College

2010 – Paul D. McNeill, II
Guilford Technical Community College (SC)

2009 – Julie Trotter
Alamance Community College

2008 – Julie Trotter
Alamance Community College

2007 – Phyllis Brewer
Calhoun Community College

2006 – Emily Ray
J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College(VA)

2005 – Sarah Nielsen
Miami-Dade Community College (FL)

2004 – Vicki Ferrara and Cassandra Moore
Calhoon Community College(Al)

2003 – Matt Forester
Sante Fe Community College

2002 – Lynne Thorner
Broward Community College (FL)

2001 – Barbara Murphy Edwards
Northern Virginia Community College (VA)

2000 – Claire Kurtgis-Hunter
Broward Community College (FL)

1999 – Lynne Thorner
Broward Community College (FL)

1998 – Traci Warren Anderson
Central Piedmont Community College (NC)

1997 – Victoria N. Salmon
Northern Virginia Community College (VA)