The Bill Doster Distinguished Service Award honors individuals who during at least five years of membership have provided distinguished service to TYCA-SE (or SCETC). The winner of the Bill Doster Award receives a plaque and lifetime membership in TYCA-SE. Nominees cannot be current elected or appointment members of the REC. Current elected or appointment REC members cannot nominate candidates for the Doster Award.

Nomination Criteria

  • Membership of five or more years

  • Currently active or retired, posthumous possible, but preference given to those who can attend the next TYCA-SE conference

  • Award granted only once to an individual

  • Distinguished service to SCETC/TYCA-SE


Evidence of distinguished service to SCETC/TYCA-SE required. See attached packet for details.

Click here to download Doster Award Nomination Packet

Past Winners

2019 – Susan Slavicz
Florida State College at Jacksonville (FL)

2018 – Betty Weldon
Jefferson Community and Technical College (KY)

2017 – Joel Henderson
Chattanooga State Community College (TN)

2016 – Beverly Fatherree
Hinds Community College (MS)

2015 – Penny Stockman Sansbury
Florence Darlington Technical College (SC)

2014 – No Winner

2013 – Chuck McDonnell
Piedmont Technical College (SC)

2012 – Don Andrews
Chattanooga State Community College (TN)

2011 – Barbara Taylor
Cleveland Community College (NC)

2010 – Amanda Wynn
Chattanooga State Community College (TN)

2009 – Tom LaBelle
Online instructor at multiple colleges

2008 – Ann Laster
Hinds Community College (MS)

2007 – Nell Ann Pickett
Hinds Community College (MS)

2006 – Charles Smires
Florida Community College at Jacksonville (FL)

2005 – Linda Isles Jones
Greenville Technical College (SC)

2004 – Ovid Vickers
East Central Community College (MS)

2003 – Mark Reynolds
Jefferson Davis Community College (AL)

2002 – Jean Bridges
East Georgia College (GA)