The Cowan Award is presented to an outstanding full-time English teacher at a two-year college in the Southeast who is a member in good standing of TYCA-SE. The Cowan Award winner demonstrates exceptional skill in instruction, develops creative approaches to curriculum and instruction, and exhibits a leadership role within the academic department. The winner will receive a plaque, has his or her name added to the permanent plaque and Cowan Award Display, and will receive $1000.

Nomination Criteria

This nomination must be submitted by one person (who cannot be currently serving on the TYCA-SE Board or an appointed board position), but accompanied by the signatures of two other persons, not necessarily from the nominee's institution, one of whom must teach in the same subject area as the nominee. The nominee must be a member in good standing of TYCA-SE, must be willing to attend the 2014 Conference in Tampa, Florida, and must not be a current member of the REC.

Up to ten pages (one side each) of samples or descriptions of the nominee's work to support the nomination must be included. Also, provide up to five letters (not included in ten-page limit) from professional colleagues (within or outside your institution).


Click here to download Cowan Award Nomination Packet

Past Winners

2019 – David Hurner
Lake City Community College/Florida Gateway College (FL)

2018 – Kathryn Hix
Greenville Technical College (SC)

2017 – Laura Hammons
Hinds Community College (MS)

2016 – Thad Cockrill
Southwest Community College (TN)

2015 – Amoena Norcross
Tri-County Technical College (SC)

2014 – No Winner

2013 – Sean J Glassberg
Horry-Georgetown Technical College (SC)

2012 – Debbie McCollum
Hinds Community College (MS)

2011 – Michele Singletary
Nashville State Community College (TN)

2010 – Donald Andrews
Chattanooga State Community College (TN)

2009 – Pat Modenbach
Missippi Gulf Coast Community College (MS)

2008 – Lorne Kotler

2007 – Delora J. Sumerel
Piedmont Technical College Greenwood (SC)

2006 – Harry Moore
Calhoun Community College Decatur (AL)

2005 – Susan Poston Allen
Greenville Technical College Greenville (SC)

2004 – Beverly Fatherree
Hinds Community College (MS)

2003 – Betsy Griffey
Florida State Community College at Jacksonville (FL)

2002 – Chuck McDonnell
Piedmont Technical College (SC)

2001 – Clem Welch
Coastal Carolina Community College (NC)

2000 – Win Loria
J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College (VA)

1999 – Faye Barham
Hinds Community College (MS)

1998 – Bobby Jean Wymer
Wytheville Community College (VA)

1997 – John Hutchens
Pitt Community College (NC)

1996 – Sue Grady
Greenville Technical College (SC)

1995 – Penny Sansbury
Florence-Darlington Technical College (SC)

1994 – Audrey Roth
Miami-Dade Community College (FL)

1993 – Eric Hibbison
J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College (VA)

1992 – No Winner

1991 – Donna Reiss
Tidewater Community College (VA)

1990 – Ann Laster
Hinds Community College (MS)

1989 – Joyce Hancock
Jefferson Community College (KY)

1988 – Kevin Morris
Greenville Technical College (SC)

1987 – Sylvia Holladay
St. Petersburg Junior College (FL)

1986 – Jean Bolen Bridges
East Georgia College (GA)

1985 – Nell Ann Pickett
Hinds Community College (MS)

1984 – Blair Spencer Ray
Polk Community College (FL)

1983 – No Winner

1982 – Gail Morrison
Midlands Technical College (SC)

1981 – Ray Shepherd
Hinds Community College (MS)